Skip to main content
Ages 13+
Under 13
expansive white room with industrial ceiling and floor to ceiling windows
Back to Journal

Faena Prize for the Arts. Open Call 2018

Arts, Buenos Aires

Faena Prize for the Arts announces Open Call for the 2018 Edition. November 1, 2017 – February 15, 2018

The Faena Prize is an example of our lasting commitment to multidisciplinary cultural production as the core and heart of Faena.

—Alan Faena

A biennial international juried prize, the Faena Prize for the Arts recognizes artistic experimentation, encourages post-disciplinary and temporal exploration, and promotes inquiry of the infinite links among art, technology and design.

This year, artists are asked to rethink the space of Faena Art Center Buenos Aires from perspectives based on time and duration. The goal is to summon multidisciplinary artists from across the world to imagine site-sensitive works that dialogue not only with the monumental architecture of the building but also with the cultural and urban conditions of its immediate surroundings.

Alan Faena, Founder and President of Faena Group said, “The Faena Prize is a building block of our ethos, and an example of our lasting commitment to multidisciplinary cultural production as the core and heart of the Faena District. We aim to identify and support the newest, boldest and most cutting-edge artists from around the world.”

Under the coordination of Ximena Caminos, Chair and Artistic Director of FAENA ART, the 2018 selection jury will includes: Carlos Basualdo, Chair Faena Circle and Keith L. and Katherine Sachs Senior Curator of Contemporary Art, Philadelphia Museum of Art; Andrea Bellini, Director of the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève; Anita Dube, artist and curator of the Kochi-Muziris Biennale 2018; Pablo León de la Barra, Curator, Latin America, Guggenheim Museum, New York and curator of the 2016 Faena Prize winner Roger Hiorns; and Franklin Sirmans, Director of Pérez Art Museum Miami. The advisor to the Faena Prize is curator Jesús Fuenmayor.

Considered one of the most prestigious art prizes in the Americas, Faena Prize for the Arts will award the the winning proposal with a $75,000 prize, and $25,000 in unrestricted funds will be awarded directly to the artist. The remaining $50,000 will be allocated towards the production of the exhibition at Faena Art Center Buenos Aires, with the possibility of being adapted for Faena Forum Miami Beach. In addition to the main prize, two special mentions of $1,000 each will be awarded to the second and third most outstanding proposals.

Previous Faena Prize winners are Roger Hiorns (2016, image shown), Cayetano Ferrer (2015), Fundación Vairoletto (2013), and Martín Sastre (2012). Special mention awards have been granted to Mercedes Azpilicueta (2016), Public Movement (2016), Nicolas Gullota (2015), Pablo Rasgado (2015), Santiago Sierra (2013), Sebastián Díaz Morales (2013), and Wilfredo Prieto (2012).